CEHHS Faculty and Graduate Students Named as 2021 Community Engagement Academy Fellows

0 comment
2021 Community Engagement Fellows

The College of Education, Health, and Human Sciences has outstanding faculty and graduate students who were recognized for their work in community engagement and engaged scholarship. These faculty and students were honored with being named among the 2021 inaugural cohort of Community Engagement Academy Fellows.

Congratulations to our 2021 CEHHS fellows! 

Janine Al-Aseer

Clinical Assistant Professor, Theory & Practice in Teacher Education and Director, University Assisted Community Schools

My research centers community voices around equitable access to high-quality education and providing holistic services to children and their families.


Temitayo Abayomi

PhD Student, Nutrition

My research explores the behavioural aspects of infant and young child nutrition and the development of interventions to positively modify those behaviours across the socio-ecological gradient, especially amongst vulnerable populations.


Miranda Rutan

Miranda Rutan, PhD student in Higher Education Administration and graduate research assistant for the CEHHS Office of Diversity, Equity & Inclusion

My research centers critical care and communities of care within formal and informal learning settings through a critical feminist lens.


Mary Terry

MS Student, Theory & Practice in Teacher Education

I am researching the functions of racial identity and belonging in educational contexts.


The Community Engagement Academy (CEA) is an interdisciplinary professional development program designed for new UTK faculty (0-3 years), postdocs, and graduate students who want to learn the foundations of community engagement and engaged scholarship and apply knowledge to research and practice. CEA provides background literature, facilitated discussion, mentoring, and presentations designed to increase their knowledge and enhance their practice of community engaged scholarship throughout Knoxville and East Tennessee by creating new partnerships and/or building upon existing ones.

Emerging engagement scholars will participate in seminars, with optional opportunities for engagement available through the Office of Community Engagement and Outreach (OCEO) initiatives. OCEO is committed to the principles of equity, shared governance, reciprocity, and mutual decision-making. Seminars are co-led by UTK faculty, staff, community partners, and national experts.

Learn more about other faculty and staff named as 2021 CEA fellows here.

Leave a Comment