Tulips and other flowers blossoming

Chancellor’s Honors and Academic Awards Banquet Recognizes Outstanding Achievements

Students, faculty, and staff from the University of Tennessee, Knoxville, College of Education, Health, and Human Sciences (CEHHS) received numerous accolades for their outstanding achievements at the recent Chancellor’s Honors Banquet and Academic Awards Banquet, held on the UT Knoxville campus.

Photo of award on table. Award reads Dr. Marva Rudolph Diversity and Interculturalism Unit Excellence Award, College of Education, Health, and Human Sciences, Office of Diversity, Equity and Inclusion 2022. Recognized for outstanding leadership and consistent contribution for advancing diversity and inclusion at UT.

One of the 13 awards received by CEHHS faculty, students, and staff at the Chancellor’s Honors and Academic Awards Banquet.

“The exceptional students, faculty, and staff being honored truly understand what it means to be a Volunteer—to have the courage to step forward in leadership and service. Each one of them is committed to making our campus and our community better, and their stories are inspiring,” said Chancellor Donde Plowman.

CEHHS was well represented, with 13 award recipients. A full list of the award winners, along with links to each award, can be found below:

Dr. Marva Rudolph Diversity and Interculturalism Unit Excellence Award

CEHHS Office of Diversity, Equity & Inclusion

Extraordinary Campus Leadership and Service

Reginald Williams II, student in Kinesiology, Recreation & Sport Studies

Extraordinary Customer Service

Devon Graham, master’s student in Higher Education Leadership

Extraordinary Graduate Student Teaching

A. Capannola, doctoral candidate in Child & Family Studies

Excellence in Academic Outreach

Angela Wozencroft, Associate Professor in Kinesiology, Recreation & Sport Studies

Excellence in Advising

Qi Sun, Associate Professor and Program Coordinator in Educational Psychology & Counseling

Excellence in Teaching

Sherrie Bruner, Clinical Assistant Professor in Educational Psychology & Counseling

Gene Mitchell Gray Pioneer Award

Simphany Gillard, Therapeutic Recreation student in Kinesiology, Recreation & Sport Studies with a minor in Child & Family Studies

Hardy Liston Jr. Symbol of Hope Award

Javiette Samuel, Associate Vice Chancellor, Director of Community Engagement and Outreach in the Diversity and Engagement, and Affiliated Associate Professor in Child & Family Studies

Jimmy and Ileen Cheek Graduate Student Medal of Excellence

Amanda Rigell, Literacy Education doctoral student in Theory & Practice in Teacher Education

Professional Promise in Research and Creative Achievement

Zoi A. Traga Philippakos, Associate Professor in Theory & Practice in Teacher Education

Torchbearer Award

Ashlyn Anderson, student minoring in Public Health Nutrition

Undergraduate Researchers of the Year

Mary “Chrissy” Jensen, student minoring in Child & Family Studies

0 comment

Leave a Comment