Educators Hall of Honor 2015

by Accolades Staff
0 comment

Renowned poet and Knoxville native Nikki Giovanni and six other educators who have significantly influenced students’ lives were inducted into the UT Educators Hall of Honor class of 2015 on in March.

The Educators Hall of Honor acknowledges the work of professionals who have established themselves in the field of education. It has featured educators from elementary school to college ranks as well as coaches, organizations, and nontraditional educators who have made an impact on improving education. The hall is housed in the College of Education, Health, and Human Sciences’ Claxton Education Complex.

Two scholarships also were presented this year. Ashley Redix, a doctoral student in the Higher Education Administration program, received the Educators Hall of Honor Scholarship. Chelsea Parker, a fifth-year student in the Teacher Preparation Program, received the inaugural Dr. Glennon Rowell Memorial Scholarship.

The 2015 honorees include:

  • Nikki Giovanni
  • Dannie Parker Cannon
  • Dorothy Hendricks
  • Patricia Medley
  • Richard Mitchell
  • Jane Reynolds
  • Donna Wright

The Educators Hall of Honor was founded in 2002 by C. Glennon Rowell, the late dean of the former College of Education, as a way to recognize deserving teachers and supplement the education of future students.

Read more about the inductees at