Educators Hall of Honor 2014

by Accolades Staff
0 comment

2014 Educators Hall of Honor Six educators who have significantly influenced students’ lives were inducted into UT’s 2014 Educators Hall of Honor on March 27. The Educators Hall of Honor acknowledges the work of professionals who have established themselves in the field of education. It is open to any professional in the United States, and members have come from throughout Tennessee and the nation.

It has featured educators from elementary school to college ranks, coaches, organizations, and nontraditional educators who have made an impact on improving education.

Nominations are made with a contribution of at least $1,000, which supports an endowed scholarship fund. Two $2,000 scholarships were presented this year to Brittany Aronson, a fourthyear doctoral student majoring in learning environments and education studies, and Alicia Johnson, a sport studies doctoral student specializing in sociocultural studies. The new group of honorees includes:

• Trudy Dreyer, a retired Knox County Schools teacher and holocaust survivor
• Schuyler (Sky) Huck, professor emeritus in the UT College of Education, Health, and Human Sciences
• Lorayne Lester, UT professor emeritus and former dean of the College of Arts and Sciences
• Marvelene Moore, James A. Cox Endowed Chair and a UT professor of music education who specializes in classroom music for K–8 students
• Chris Pionke, an associate professor in the Department of Mechanical, Aerospace, and Biomedical Engineering in the UT College of Engineering
• Bill Robinson, orchestra director for Maryville City Schools

To learn more about the program or read more about this year’s recipients, visit

Leave a Comment